Florida girl

Standard

One of the things I have noticed about traveling is that people “show” themselves all the time without even knowing it. It’s like, I cannot explain it, but when I see it, I know it.  So, sometimes I feel the vibe of a person, check out their clothes, or hear an accent, and it’s like, “your Midwest is showing.”

Or when I met this girl in Alabama, she started talking, and she had NYC written all over her.  And I just laughed and couldn’t hold it in any longer and busted out with the “OMG, you are SO from NY.”  And she immediately started laughing hysterically.

And even though I have only been in Florida for 4 years now, it seems that I have morphed into a Florida girl. It’s weird because I feel I have not changed that much as a person, but then I go to Alabama and it’s like shocking. I mean SHOCKING.

The slowness.  The sing song drawl.  The “what church do you go to?  Is Jesus Christ your Lord and Saviour?” question that always gets asked that drives me nuts. . .or even, the “what are you?” question.

Ughhhhhh!!!  I told someone once that I’m a Leo in response to the “what are you?” question.  I suppose it beats having an argument with a total stranger about why that’s a rude question.  If I have to explain why it’s rude, it’s really futile. Really.

And I have had those spirited debates (in my younger years)  with strangers in Alabama before.  One man stopped me and asked me what religion I belong.  He then told me what I was, or what he thought I should be,  and wanted to know my religious background.  I could not believe I was having this conversation in the middle of Wal Mart with someone I have never met before. . .and yet I was.

WTF?

I have learned to just shut those people down now.  Respond simply with “That’s personal, thank you.”  And if they insist, do the broken record method while continuing to walk away, pepper spray visible, “that’s personal, thank you.  That’s personal, thank you.” And if it escalates, well, I have more direct words in reserve to be used, that will not be listed on this lovely post. . .

Cheesus.

But Orlando is different.  Yes, people in general seem to be flirty here.  Obsessed with labels; their gorgeous bodies, and tend to be materialistic.  People here like to party, and like money (or at least in the circles I have observed). Of course there are some that do not fit this description, however, this is the general vibe I get about this place.

Orlando seems to be drama filled.  Missing people.  Sexual predators.  Kidnappings. If you watch a lot of crime shows like I do–Dateline, Discovery Investigation, Fugitive shows. . .a lot of these stories take place in Florida.  Yep, it’s all here.

What I love about Orlando?  Well, fireworks somewhere every night. The breeze, warm weather, International diversity.  There really is a lot to do here, and a lot of places to party, and plenty of people to party with.  Many people say Orlando is a small city trying to be a large one.  Ok, good point, but it’s cute here.

Now, sense of community?  Not so much.  Lots of people coming in and out. Actually, it’s very difficult to find people who were born and raised here…it seems as if everyone is from somewhere else.

Many New Yorkers here have voiced having a hard time adjusting.  It’s too spread out. You have to drive everywhere. And of course, it’s Not NYC, so it’s not the “center of the universe.” Bless their hearts.

I love it here though.  The cost of living is not outrageous.  The weather is phenomenal.  And I love meeting the different characters. . .but that’s everywhere I go really. . .

I wish it were more progressive here, however.  Public transportation has many opportunities for improvement.  And I do not understand the laws here that are not very gay friendly, even though Orlando was just named #2 for gayest cities in America.

I’m not sure if there ever will be a perfect city anywhere in the world, but for now, Orlando is home.  I love it here.Image

2 responses »

  1. Love this post and the things you touch on.

    I am from here, I was born in Kissimmee. and most people say I have a weird combo accent. A mixture from my northern Ohio raised father and southern from mothers side. But you can normally tell who’s from where.

    About religion and nationality/heritage: I completely agree with you. I’m sure you get it more than me but everyone seems to think that because I have reddish hair and freckles I’m Irish. I’m not lol. but the religious questions are so bothersome because they always have that hidden agenda of wanting to show you that they are right and you should convert.

    Just yesterday we had the people come to the door with the bibles and all preaching. My little Miniature Pinscher is barking at them from the window. They ask me about my religion and I inform them that the dog in the window barking at them is my Spirit Animal and that she is not happy I am talking with them and that I must go. They looked puzzled and tried to hand me a pamphlet, and I say I must obey my spirit animal’s wishes. I wish them a nice day and close the door. Of course I was teasing but I hate when people try to preach to others.

    I don’t think any of those questions are appropriate until you get to know someone and are just curious about their background. After some time questions like “What is your upbringing, heritage, nationality?” and “Are you religious, spiritual, agnostic, atheist?” are fine once you’ve started to get to know someone but these questions do not make good first conversations especially if the hidden agenda is to preach, condemn, try and convert, or show bias.

Leave a Reply

